South Carolina: top cops honored for dragging drunk drivers off of roads

COLUMBIA – Law enforcement officers and agencies were recognized Wednesday for their efforts in 2010 to enforce the state’s DUI laws and remove impaired drivers from South Carolina roadways.
The SC Department of Public Safety (SCDPS) presented awards to officers and agencies in several categories during its 6th Annual DUI Enforcement Recognition Ceremony. SC State Attorney General Alan Wilson was the keynote speaker.
During the ceremony, SCDPS Director Mark Keel praised the efforts of law enforcement officers statewide. “Highway Patrol, State Transport Police and our local law enforcement partner agencies do a fantastic job enforcing the traffic laws of our state. But when we all work together and combine our efforts, the good that we do is multiplied. It means more drunk drivers are off our roads and behind bars. It means more people are educated about the effects of DUI. Most importantly, it means more lives are saved. That should be applauded.”
Following is a complete list of winners:

 Officer of the Year (five categories based on size of agency):

  • 1-10 officers: Officer Bill Bruner, Chapin Police Department, 22 DUI arrests
  • 11-25 officers: Officer Chris Kendall, Travelers Rest Police Department, 55 DUI arrests
  • 26-50 officers: Officer Charles Carnes, Hanahan Police Department, 92 DUI arrests
  • 51-100 officers: Officer Jason T. Pearce, North Augusta Department of Public Safety, 87 DUI arrests
  • 101 or more officers: Deputy Jason Kramer, Spartanburg County Sheriff’s Office, 135 DUI arrests

 Rookie of the Year:

  • Deputy Jacob Will, Dorchester County Sheriff’s Office, 7 DUI arrests

    Highway Patrol Troop of the Year:
    Troop 5 (Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro, and Williamsburg counties), 4,436 DUI arrests
    State Transport Police District of the Year:
  • District 3 (Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg counties)

 South Carolina Law Enforcement Network Award:

  • 15th Circuit Law Enforcement Network, (Georgetown and Horry counties)
    Agency of the Year (five categories based on size of agency):
  • 1-10 officers: Bonneau Police Department, 36 DUI arrests
  • 11-25 officers: Travelers Rest Police Department, 125 DUI arrests
  • 26-50 officers: Mauldin Police Department, 186 DUI arrests
  • 51-100 officers: Aiken Department of Public Safety, 234 DUI arrests
  • 101 or more officers: Mount Pleasant Police Department, 437 DUI arrests